SPECIAL: Wealth Management Greece Update July 6, 2015

ballot_000015289231_320Greek citizens voted ‘No’ in resounding fashion in yesterday’s referendum, rejecting the set of austerity reforms that were put forward by Greece’s creditors in exchange for a bailout. By a vote of 61% ‘No’ to 39% ‘Yes’, the bailout terms were rejected and where the situation goes from here is uncertain. Greek Finance Minister Yanis Varoufakis announced his resignation this morning amid political pressure, so negotiations will now fall on new Finance Minister Euclid Tsakalotos. Emergency meetings with high ranking European officials will be held over the next few days in order to determine if any common ground can be found and a deal can reached. In the meantime, Greece announced that its banks will remain closed through Wednesday and will likely remain closed unless the European Central Bank decides to extend emergency liquidity assistance to the country. While the risks of a Greek exit from the Euro currency have increased with the results of the referendum vote (Standard & Poor’s estimates odds of over 50% for a ‘Grexit’), we continue to believe that the threat of contagion into other parts of the world is relatively contained.

If you have any additional questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to reach out to an Investment Officer or your Relationship Manager.

Rich Gartelmann CFP® – (630) 844-5730 rgartelmann@oldsecond.com
Jean Van Keppel CFA® – (630) 906-5489 jvankeppel@oldsecond.com
Brad Johnson CFA®, CFP® – (630) 906-5545 bjohnson@oldsecond.com
Joel Binder, SVP – (630) 844-6767 jbinder@oldsecond.com
Jacqueline Runnberg CFP® – (630) 966-2462 jrunnberg@oldsecond.com
Tamara Wiley, CFP® – (630) 844-3222 twiley@oldsecond.com
Ed Gorenz, VP – (630) 906-5467 ejgorenz@oldsecond.com

Visit Old Second Wealth Management

Non-deposit investment products are not insured by the FDIC; not a deposit of, or guaranteed by, the bank; may lose value.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s